Call +420 518 321 881   info-ico1   All contacts

Veselí nad Moravou

Originally a water castle built by Sudomír from the House of Tvrdišovec, a secretary from Břeclav, in the mid-13th century.

The first report about the castle dates back to 1261, so it is one of the oldest castles in Moravia. It was supposed to guard the provincial border and an important crossing over the Morava River to Hungary.


In the mid-16th century, the castle was converted into a Renaissance palace. Between 1620 and 1642, Veselí was burnt down several times and the palace was plundered. In 1731, František Karel Chorinský from Ledská became an owner of Veselí. He had the adjoining garden with some interesting buildings, rare trees, and ponds founded. In the first half of the 19th century, the palace was turned into its present late-Classicistic appearance in accordance with the plans of the Vienna architect Karel Schleps. Here were located a large library with books written in several languages and a very valuable gallery with pictures by Heiss, Rubens, Rembrandt, Bellucci etc. The domain included a farmhouse, a brewery, and mills.

In April 1945, the palace was heavily damaged by the crossing of a front line.  The count’s family left Veselí and withdrew to Vienna where its last member – Count Maria Anna Ludwigstorff Chorinsky – still lives. The palace passed to the municipality. In the 1920s, the structure of the building was reinforced to avoid its collapsing. In 2003, the municipality sold the palace to a private investor. Since that time, a slow gradual reconstruction of the palace has run. Thanks to a new owner, who acquired the palace in 2007, an archaeological survey took place here in 2008-2010. The survey could discover a lot of new and interesting finds and information.

The sight is not open to the public now, as it is being renewed and turned into a hotel.

kudyznudy logo-01

inCity-logo-color-basic Facebook-logo-1817834